Fleet Foxes – Indie Folk Harmonies are Back

When I heard that Fleet Foxes was breaking up a few years ago it was one of the worst things I could imagine hearing from the music world.  This is one of the few true Indie Folk bands.  Their magnificent writing and harmonies were part of my induction to Indie music.  They were also on my list of bands I simply had to see live and hadn’t yet.  They broke up apparently with a fair amount of acrimony and I thought that was that.  In the interim some of them have had successful solo careers, most notably, the drummer and key part of their harmonies, Father John Misty.

FJM is not back with them, but their new album, Crack-Up, is outstanding, and their former band mate is cheering their new music as am I.

Folk Rock has a long history and people who may be thinking of Crosby, Still, Nash and Young may not want to hear it, but these guys are the real thing.  Check out the harmony on the first video below.  This is the first Fleet Foxes song I heard and though there is no 60s protest going on here, they certainly know how to craft beautiful music.  Around two minutes in there is an a capella section that may even remind you of CSN and Y.  Just outstanding.  The second video is from their brand new release and shows they are back and going strong. It also includes some dance moves that are quite unusual and expressive.

Maybe I’ll still get my chance to see them live.

One Reply to “Fleet Foxes – Indie Folk Harmonies are Back”

Leave a Reply

